Call For A No Cost 15 Minute Consultation 303-586-1961

Blog

Most Colorado Landlords Now Must Give 5 or 10 day Demand for Rent or Compliance

Posted by Dave Rich | Aug 07, 2019 | 0 Comments

Colorado House Bill 19-1118, signed into law on May 20, 2019, changes the time frame in which certain landlords must give notice to tenants prior to commencing eviction proceedings for failure to pay rent or for a first or subsequent violation of any other condition or covenant in a lease other than a substantial violation. Now, instead of having to give 3 days notice, under most residential lease agreements, a landlord is required to give 10 days notice. Under a nonresidential or an employer-provided housing agreement, a landlord still is required to give 3 days notice. For an exempt residential agreement, meaning for the lease of a single family home (condos and townhomes are not detached single family homes) by a landlord who owns 5 or fewer single family rental homes, 5 days notice is required. This is a big change for landlords, since it can slow down the eviction process by a week, which could impact the timeline for getting a new tenant into the property and paying rent.

About the Author

Dave Rich

Education Dave grew up in Denver and received a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Colorado at Boulder and his J.D. from the University of Colorado School of Law. Dave Rich is a business owner turned attorney. As a former business owner, Mr. Rich has a unique perspective on legal...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today

Flatiron Legal Advisors, LLC is committed to answering your questions about Estate, Probate, Divorce, LLC Formation, Estate Administration and Trusts law issues in Boulder and Denver. We offer a free consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.

Menu